The northwest of D.C.

My group therapy takes place in the northwest quadrant of the district, and I make it to the building after roughly 40 minutes of travel on the metro followed by 15 minutes of walking. Along the way you can encounter receptive squirrels and birds who will eat whatever you give them, probably. The homeless sleep in the alleys or on the grass. The other day one of them yelled, “Shut up faggot you aren’t helpin.” Between the buildings and wide sidewalks and pedestrians the roads filter vehicles and expensive bikes and scooters. Commuters and tourists and college students–the ambitious and average and ambivalent–shuffle across one or two way streets. I don’t know how I feel about the place.

4 thoughts on “The northwest of D.C.

  1. doesitevenmatter3

    Interesting variety of peoples, animals, and vehicles sharing the same space. I like who you wrote about this!
    I would probably stand, or sit down, and just watch. Take it all in.
    Maybe you will have some feelings about it all soon.
    How are you doing?!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. thecuriousbum Post author

      It’s funny how we learned about transitions in school, and now I make it look like a homeless guy was calling a bird a faggot. Good on me 😛

      Reply
  2. Shannon Lorraine

    I don’t know, either. I doubt there’s much “feeling” going on amongst the hustle ‘n’ bustle. You’d probably have to take time-out and hunt for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

