Building bridges

Not long ago I saw an article about a bridge painted like legos, and I must say at that I approve. Seeing the bridge threw me back to riding down to Tyson’s Corner mall in northern Virginia, an area fairly recently developed. Well, several years ago they created new interchanges or whatever else you may call very extended bridges over-and underlapping each other. These gray monuments stand on gray pillars with a few sections of dreary grass in between, and I remember being so sad at the sight of it. People talk about dreary rainy days, and I suppose you could call these bridges and other such lumps of concrete my rainy day. With street art we can turn these utilitarian earth-consuming concrete snakes into something at least more colorful! In fact, these days I am so bored with gray overpasses and barriers and sound barriers that I actually like the “vandalism.”

Leave a Reply

