What inspires you?

Image

First, a picture of me because I was reminded from reading http://crookedoaks.wordpress.com/ (she’s a pretty darn good photographer by the way) that our bodies do not stay the same forever. I’ll spare you the naked pictures of me, however.  Do you think my “beard” will ever turn brown or will my hair just turn gray/blonde to match it? 😛 I’m curious–a buddy and I were having a conversation about inspiration, and since a few of my subscribers write poetry/fiction, with a few music writers and other kinds of artists too, what inspires you?

7 thoughts on “What inspires you?

  1. anaraug

    My beard was bright red unlike my brown hair, although right now it is missing. And yeah, you know that I’m still trying to figure exactly that out.

    Reply
  2. doesitevenmatter3

    Hey, Handsome Friend!
    I think your beard will go to grayish blond some day…a long time from now.
    I am inspired by people, by my experiences (good and bad ones), by nature.
    All of those things give me words to write and to write poetry.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. blogmefast

    i’m not sure what inspires me..it is surely unconscious..what inspires us, i think, are all the experiences of our past..yes, the past is controlling our present inspirations..that’s the best i can put it..your beard could be blondish right now, because you are in the sun a lot ? i suspect that as you advance in age your beard will be one day gray and later on white..it’s the norm…. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Sarah Key

    Thanks for sharing that crookedoaks blog. I really like it. And it’s nice seeing your face, my friend!

    I find inspiration in small things most of the time. I like listening to people talk and thinking about the possibilities of the details they choose to include in their conversations. I’m inspired all the time by what I’m reading. I was just reading a short story where the author (Alice Munro, ironically) listed a can opener as one of the contents of this drawer, and for some reason, I started thinking about can openers and my childhood, how my grandparents had an electric one, and I’d never seen that before. I started asking questions and working on a short creative nonfiction piece.

    When I’m having a hard time finding “inspiration,” I usually go for a walk. It helps to be outside, sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

