Compost

One of the few joys I have in life is tending my compost. Tend amounts to adding leaves and adding scraps from the house. I don’t turn it or worry about nitrogen/carbon balancing or worry too much about what I cannot add. I am responsible for a little ecosystem, for building a little hill of something which erodes by the tons into the rivers and oceans. I hardly even use the finished soil, just keep piling on, building up.Β 

On a somewhat related note, apparently my niece mentioned compost at school. She sometimes goes back with me when I have something to add to it. I wonder if one or both of the niblings will take an interest in anything I do later on in life. It would be good to teach them a few things schools and their mom will not be able to show them.Β 

2 thoughts on “Compost

  1. doesitevenmatter3

    I love this post!
    One of my brother-in-laws has had a compost “pile” for decades…and his sons loved to dig worms out of it to throw on me. He, also, has a huge garden every year. I learned about composting from him when I was a teenager. πŸ™‚
    Yes, kids today who spend most of their waking hours in front of monitors…computer, phone, Kindles, etc…need to learn about things like composting.
    I am/was the teacher, mom, aunt who is always getting the kids outdoors to plant something, watch an insect, make a mud puddle, pick up litter, etc. πŸ™‚
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Sarah Key

    I miss having a compost pile. One of the more disheartening facts about where I live now is the landlord’s rule against having compost units. Almost all the waste I produce, aside from packaging, is compost material. Coffee dregs, egg shells, lettuce cores, banana peels, tea leaves, paper, and even the more unattractive waste hair. Lots of hair.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

