A bit of fluff

Back in the days when I searched for all things typewriter, I encountered Jerry Lewis’s bit where he pretends to type to Leroy Anderson’s composition “Typewriter.” I admit, here, that Jerry Lewis cannot stir much more than a quick exhalation from me in a good skit. In my view, his routine comes down to a weird voice and crossing his eyes and some physical humor. 

Regarding the video, he does keep in good time with the rather fast-paced song, which you could call impressive. However, he returns the carriage the wrong way (unless it was an Arabic or Hebrew typewriter), and as a typewriter enthusiast that sort of bugged me. Like … how do you do that in a time when typewriters are commonplace?

Leave a Reply

