Mr. Krabs

I’ve always been a cheapskate–or a noskate–when it comes to gifts. For a while I made cards but that creativity burned out. Sometimes I wrote poems for people, but even if I delivered them, how many people care about poems or understand them?

The past couple of years I’ve had the urge to give back a little more, and it becomes easier with the accumulation of tools and knowledge.

My sister’s birthday happened over 2 months ago now, but I want to make a quilt for her with an abstract quilt-blocking of her name. I’ve also considered doing it in paper so her kids can draw on it. And I want to make a hat for my dad–whose birthday is in about a month–with his radio call sign on it (there’s a sort of in-joke stereotype that a lot of hams wear a hat with their call sign). I don’t have an idea for my mom’s gift yet, and my sister’s kids get a shit ton of gifts so I don’t worry too much about them.

Of course, the main issue is I struggle a lot with any sort of concentration. I did manage to make a gift for someone because I am fond of her–that and insomnia led me to an early start one day. But now that I’ve written it out maybe my three readers here can hold me to it.

3 thoughts on “Mr. Krabs

  1. doesitevenmatter3

    I care about poems…and I love them as gifts…but, I’m weird. o_O I’ve only ever gotten 2 poems as gifts in my lifetime and I treasure them! πŸ™‚
    The gifts you have planned sound GREAT! I especially like the idea of the quilt for your sister AND the paper quilt for her kids to draw on! πŸ™‚
    Take the time you need…the gifts will be special whenever you get them done and given out.
    I finally finished a collage for one of my WordPress friends and mailed it to her. πŸ™‚ It took me awhile.
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

