A rant about not my life, for once

On eFFBee, I am friends with a few hardcore Christians, many of whose (of whose?) attributes I find admirable.

However, they believe some things that sprout from their defense Christianity which I (and all but like 3% of scientists) would call FACT. Evolution is the main one here. Since I am not all that brainy, take this from, yes, Wikipedia:

  1. Evolution, in this context, is both a fact and a theory. It is an incontrovertible fact that organisms have changed, or evolved, during the history of life on Earth. And biologists have identified and investigated mechanisms that can explain the major patterns of change.”
    The Earth is also round, guys. The Earth revolves around the sun, not the other way around. Why is this so damn hard to believe? And if everything is not figured out, you don’t have to fill it in with some god or another. You don’t CREATE an answer. You try to FIND an answer through observation, not trust conclusions drawn from books written before most people even knew how to read.
    Why is believing evolution impossible for you, but it’s easy to believe God said poof for six days and then everything existed, that God breathed on dust and created a man, then took his rib and created a woman? Oh, and then God fit all animals in an impossibly large boat that STILL wouldn’t comfortably house them, flooded the Earth with more water than in existence, then repopulated Earth with one family of of humans and ‘two of every kind.’
    That makes more sense.
    Don’t even get me started on how goofy the New Testament can sound. Holy shit.
    I don’t want to offend any of my buddies here, but really, there ARE facts, even some that hardcore Christians like the ones described take for granted and believe. There’s no strong case laid out for it here, I’m just saying it pisses me off that people are intentionally misled just so we can prop up a fucking religion that should stand up to trial and bear evidence if it really did happen and made any sense.
7 thoughts on “A rant about not my life, for once

  1. ohellino

    Honestly this made me laugh. Maybe I was just at a point where I needed to. But it’s been a long time since I’ve gone head to head with someone over evolution. The wiki entry sounds like someone is getting bombarded by creationism. I suppose a lot of people are.

    Reply
    1. thecuriousbum Post author

      I used to debate a little. Several years ago though I got sort of serious with pretty serious Christian girl (from Xanga, lol). Quite a few times my choice in atheism and whatnot lead to tears, eventually an awkward breakup far away from home. It was just hard for me to believe someone could take it that seriously. Anyway, the point is someone else can deal with all that now.

      Reply
      1. ohellino

        I’m kind of terrible at debate especially defending evolution. And it is terrible when past girlfriends believed in creationism not that it made a whole lot of difference but it was just irritating. If they didn’t take biology in school, hey, I took biology, I can explain it! But defend it? pffff. I’ve never turned someone from creationism or got them to accept evolution if they previously didn’t. Least of all a girlfriend….

Leave a Reply

