Scrap fabric plant/weed supression (Update)

IMG_3364

4/22

I weeded the area–ehh, kinda–for a fresh start.

– First ~foot to the left of the bush: cotton and linen (mostly strips) covered with pine needles

– Second is just needles

– The rest I left uncovered.

I think bigger pieces of fabric would work better, but I want to find a use for scraps. Perhaps the next iteration would be fabric cut into small pieces: more surface area, easier to pile.

5/7

IMG_3373

IMG_3372

We received rain last night and it seems like the weeds exploded, but admittedly I am not all that observant. Since the initial weeding, I have not pulled any; a diligent gardener would check every day. You might be able to see about 2 plants sprouted from the clothes covered ground, the plain needles probably quadruple that. Every year that bush to the right advances farther into the yard, so cutting it back and using more fabric might do some good.

In the second picture: garlic mustard. I ate most of it. It grows rampant in the parks and tastes peppery. I don’t eat weeds from just anywhere. HOAs and county people spray grounds with herbicides and who knows what else. I considered trying to make dandelion wine but the uncertainty of the flowers outside of my yard or in the big state parks ruins the thought. I did eat a few of the dandelions from the yard, however. The flowers taste of a little bitter without a lot else. They would look pretty on a salad.

Leave a Reply

