Hardtack and buttons homemade?

No posts for a while, I know. I haven’t done much of interest, no tag-worthy items for the greater wordpress audience to Like or Share or Follow on social media. I made some traditional hardtack yesterday. Ate a piece plain–not all that pleasant; left a piece in tea–softer, but it didn’t really pick up the flavor like I thought it would; fried it in olive oil with some garlic powder–the best out of the bunch, tasted like really cheap somewhat tough restaurant Italian bread. I’m hypothesizing that adding flavor would be better done while cooking as opposed to adding spices to the flour and water. The things take an hour to bake which may kill some flavor, but I’m not much of a cook so who knows.

Right now I’m waiting on buttons for my shorts. I considered sewing on a hodgepodge of ones from the tool box but thought that may turn people off because I may use these as the ‘display’ shorts … also considering making my own buttons out of 24 gauge copper–cutting squares, filing the edges, punching holes, and work hardening the copper with my ball-peen hammer and little jeweler’s anvil.

11 thoughts on “Hardtack and buttons homemade?

    1. thecuriousbum Post author

      I’ve thought about using a few etsy sellers, but that puts me on their time which could be an issue. Metal might also be quicker than the wood buttons I’ve created also.

      Reply
    1. thecuriousbum Post author

      It’s a thick, tough cracker used as provisions or survival food back in the day because it lasts a long time. I was reminded of my interest in making it because there was one from a Titanic lifeboat on antiques roadshow. So yeah hehe.

      Reply
  1. doesitevenmatter3

    I’ve heard of hardtack, but never had any. I remember in westerns that people at it as they traveled.
    So how are you holding your shorts up without buttons?! πŸ˜‰ Just teasin’ you! πŸ˜›
    Making your own buttons would be cool! I have collection of old buttons in a jar. I love old buttons!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

